See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my third FOOD SAVER and it is the daddy of them all. I love this product, and will be using it more often because it is so much easier to vacuum pack and to marinate. 04/25/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice piece of plastic junk I'm taking mine back today. I bought it yesterday, based upon the reviews read on Walmart.com. I was sorely disappointed!! It would seal, not vacuum and seal, but simply seal three bags then overheat. The booklet says to wait 20 secs after overheating but the shortest amount of time we waited was 5 minutes!! That's just ridiculous! It took us over 2 hours to seal 10lbs of meat. We ended up getting out our old foodsaver and used that instead. My husband was pretty upset that for $142.93 (plus tax), the machine could not do what it was designed to do. Also, the drip tray is incredibly small. When I was putting it away this morning, I noticed how small the fan on the back of the machine was. Perhaps Tilia needs to put a bigger fan design in to prevent overheating. I most likely will just stick with the one I bought several years ago instead of purchasing a newer model. It's never given me any problems. 09/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased I had one several years ago and was not a big fan of them. A friend told me about this one and I decided to try it and it is really easy to use and I can't wait to try the marinating feature!! 07/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!! My husband and I decided we wanted to stock up for the winter and this made this task much eaiser. The only thing is if you have something with alot of liqiud you have to make sure it seals, but it is very easy to use! The bags that go with this are also a very good value! You dont go through the rolls as fast as you think you would! I recommend this to everyone that comes to my house! 11/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little money-saver! A little pricey, but I tried the cheaper model and it didn't work, plus after checking it out online, it didn't have the features I wanted. Took it back and got this model. It works well, vacuums and seals everything as advertised. I had an "original" many years ago that lasted for a good 8-10 years before it bit the dust. I hope this one wears as well. No more freezer burned pork chops when I buy in bulk, and hopefully no leftovers turning into "science projects" in the back of the fridge! 12/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What little time I have had and used my Foodsaver Vacuum Sealer, I love it. 08/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This item is not worth buying. I bought it, tried to package 6 bags of meat and it was useless. It would not vacuum all the air out. I got more air out by squeezing the bags than the machine pulled out. I would NOT recommend this item to anyone. 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This is my 3rd Food Saver. Not because anything goes wrong with the unit, I just prefer to switch whenever the company up grades the model. My old model usually gets donated to Goodwill, or a garage sale. This lastest model is by far their best. No button to hold down during the sealing process. Just turn it on, insert the bag, and "walk away". When the sealing process is completed the Food Saver turns off automatically. The Food Saver is very easy to use. I RESEAL just about every bag that's out there; chips, candy, cookies, etc. No need to use those twister ties anymore. I can't imagine how they can improve this great product, but if they do, you can be sure I'll be first in line. 05/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great So far I have used it to freeze meat and a few vegatables. Works great so far 03/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I feel that this product is one of the best purchases I have made this year. I have been using it a lot since I have purchased it. I am now making extra food so I will be able to freeze. I have had one before and my sons wore it out by using it to vaccume thier clothes they were taking to Iraq. I have already recommended this to others. 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only reason I rated durability as average is because we've only had it a short time. My lovely wife loves it and just wonders why we didn't get it years ago. 12/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by erratic performance This is first sealer for my wife & I. Out of three bags-- first was as advertised then the other two were not done automatically at all. Air pumped out but no sealing. Had to push the seal button and after a few tries it would seal. We're patient but I think we have a sorry piece of merchandise. We were not rushing the item and the cooling time was a few minutes rather than the "20 seconds" advertised. We want a good one and don't mind paying for it but this one seems to be a loser. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item and a wonderful way to save your food. 10/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I have one that is so great, I bought it for my daughter. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Purchased With a Goal I purchased the more expensive vacuum sealer in this series after reading some of the reviews and comments of "manual labor" vs. "automatic" and I am anticipating heavy usage because my goal this year is to fill the freezer with venison burger due to the expected high prices of beef next spring (we own and sell cattle might even butcher our own beef if this process goes well). I purchased this item in the store but placed an on-line order for the grinder which will not arrive for a few more days. I was a little late getting that order in however as both my husband and son-in-law harvested does yesterday! Fortunately, I had read several reviews on here and had read one that suggested freezing the meat for a few hours before cutting and grinding to make processing easier. The guys cleaned and quartered the deer and we stuck them in the freezer for about 6 hours. Knowing the grinder would arrive mid week (we all have full time jobs), we decided to go ahead and cut the meat off the bone and into chunks to feed into the grinder when it was a more convenient time. I was so grateful this product came with a roll and pre-cut bags! I all that was provided! It only took a few minutes to read the instructions and become familiar with the product. The roll and bags provided 6 bags (about gallon size) of approximately 6lbs each of meat chunks with just about a quarter size bag left. We used the pre-cut bags provided for the tenderloin. It worked wonderfully! Now all of the meat from this weekend is sealed up, frozen and will be ready for me when I the grinder gets here and I have enough time. I also sealed a ham bone and with lots of meat on it left from dinner to be used in beans later. It looked like it was professionally packaged and I'm confident when I pull it out of the freezer, it will not be coated with ice crystals like they normally are. I would highly recommend this product as it worked well for this novice, the instructions are easy and on the product in labels and the cleanup was simple. 10/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly reccomend this model I had a cheaper food saver that was over 20 years old and finally kicked the bucdket. I bought the V3460 and I live it. Easy to use with more options. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great and easy to use Easy to set up and use, great product at a reasonable price. Hope to save food from getting freezer burn and save foods from going to waste. 09/25/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quickly disappointed We purchased the 3460 to long term store chicken that my wife and I free ranged and grass fed for our families consumption. We first separated 1/3 of our harvest into parts then store them using the 11" wide bag roll, making customer length bags as required. Thereafter, we stored full broiler chickens using, again, the 11" wide bag roll. In total we stored 36 chickens. The sealer worked fairly well for the parts, but the whole chickens were a disaster! Only half of the bags would evacuated automatically and most of those we had to cut the seal off and reattempt to pull the vacuum and seal again. Basically, the bags appeared to be clamped down upon too hard preventing the vacuum pump from pulling the air out of the bag and prematurely sealing the bag. When the sealer worked properly, I was very pleased with how it operated and the quality of the evacuated bag and seal. If not for the partial success, primarily with my wife's delicate touch, I would have rated this lower. Still trying to figure out of this is operator error or a machine flaw. I was quickly disappointed and hope that I can regain confidence in this product with success in the future. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product topped my highest expectations I did a lot of research before purchasing this unit, reading reviews on many different brands of food vacuum sealing units, and asked questions of friends that I knew used them. Well, the FoodSaver V3460 so far surpassed my expectations that I'm now telling all my friends about it. Even those that had tried sealers in the past and gave me negative reviews. The unit impressed me from the second I opened the box...the packing is wonderful, with a soft covering so that it arrived in pristine condition, something that can be hard to do with today's mail service. But once I had taken it out of the box, that's when the real fun began. Within minutes, without going through the manual, I was creating my own custom sized bags, and sealing chicken legs and thighs, marveling at the ease of use and the perfection of the seals. Next came ground beef, then hamburgers (for fast easy meals), and quickly and easily, without even reading a manual. (I should mention here that up to this point, the only "vacuum sealer" I had ever used was a manual vauum, which uses resealable bags and a push "vacuum pump"...and which often leaks air and food still becomes freezer burned.) All instructions for use are on labels inside the machine, so no heavy reading required...and it sets up in seconds. I was warned that friends preferred the flat units to the ones that stood tall...I can't see why, as with this unit there is no need for putting a cutting board or block under the food to get that perfect seal and perfect vacuum. The unit does have a long profile, but the width is so small that I still found the perfect place for it on my countertop next to the wall. In short, I am totally thrilled with this machine. I can't stress enough how easy it is to use, and how perfectly it seals and removes the air from the bags. I have used it for meats, nuts, cereal, home grown/dehydrated basil and oregano, and as a test, I sealed some homemade pizzelle cookies, which are delicate and easily crushed...they came through beautifully, and I'll be using my sealer instead of zip bags for my holiday cookies this year! I'm totally thrilled with my purchase, thank you FoodSaver for a machine I can trust! 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice foodsaver. It works very well and is quite handy to just leave on the cabinet as it doesn't take up nearly as much room as our old foodsaver did. My only problem with this FoodSaver and all the rest is that you waste so much of the bag when vacuuming and sealing there is always about 3 or 4 inches of bag that hangs over, other than that we love this new FoodSaver. 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product does exactly what it's made to do. I bought model 3400 for my wife and she loves it. It has a simplistic operation, it's slimline and attractive, and does exactly what it's advertised to do. I recommend the 3400 to anyone contemplating buying a quality sealer. 08/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A must for my kitchen I love the foodsaver and have used them for years. This is not my first fodsaver. I would have liked to have the accessory hose stored in the machine like my last foodsaver. Also, my machines seem to only last 3 to 4 years, I imagined they would last a little longer. This is the reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this one I'm not new to these machines. I love this one for counter space and color. Upgraded all my appliances to black so was happy to find this one. Very happy as always with my foods saver. Owned my old one for 6 years and it still works. Very happy and just ordered more containers. 07/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money This is the second one I have to return within a month. The first one couldn't suck all the air out. This one will not create a seal, it partially seals and the "tray full" light will come on and won't go out. I will go with the cheaper model next. I had a cheaper model that lasted me 10 years, thought I was getting the same quality product. Very frustrated that I have to drive back into town and return yet another product!! 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product, exceeded all of my expectations. I am not new to FoodSaver's community. My first Vacuum Sealer was in the 700 model group. I used it for over 10 years without any problems, my new machine (3460 ) is easier to use and is very consumer friendly. ( even my 92 year old mother use it with no problem). I have already saved over $400.00 by sealing and freezing my summer vegetables and fruits. I do, recommend this product to my friends and family. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product works as advertised, simple to use. i retired my 550 foodsaver. 07/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works like a charm and easy to use My first adventure with an appliance like this. I saw a friend use one and thought of all of the meat and other food I have thrown out and knew it was worth a shot. Easy to use, I have fish, steaks, and fruit all in the freezer after the first evening, and I tried it for marinating one steak and that worked great also. Very happy in general. 07/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good price but not sure yet The price was definitely great, but I'm still trying to get used to it and not sure. I've tried sealing peas from the garden to freeze but can't seem to get the last seal to work. It pulls too much water out and then won't seal if on the gentle and moist cycle. I even dried the peas off so not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'll have to keep trying it to make up my mind. 07/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! Overall this has been a great product, easy to use and look forward to saving lots of $$$'s. 07/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome product I have had my food saver for about 4 weeks now and have used it so many times. I love the way it gives me much more space in the freezer. I have used it on all the frozen veggies that come in their original bags and clip off the directions and just put it in with my food saver bags and veggies. Just love it!! 07/11/2012
1-30 of 63 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw504
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp